

# Minutes

| Meeting  | Union Council                    |
|----------|----------------------------------|
| Date     | 10 <sup>th</sup> of October 2024 |
| Location | Lecture Theatre 2                |
| Author   | Liz Bigalke                      |
| Status   | Open                             |

Chair: Ali Sabba (acting Chair)

Deputy Chair: Chanel Munroe (elected during meeting)

**In attendance:** Liz Bigalke (Governance and Democracy Coordinator, acting as Secretary to Union Council), Mike Hill (Head of Advice and Representation), Beth Plant (Democracy and Representation Coordinator), Magda De Soissons-Page (Democracy and Representation Coordinator), Elsa Mounayer (Democracy and Representation Coordinator), Jumara Stone (Chief Executive Officer)

**Voting members present:** Megan Agreda, Ameer Al-Magidi, Talitha Bader, Claudio Barchiesi, Charlotte Bell, Jamie Bryson, Kc Campbell, Nayana Chandran, Bianca Chiciudean, Antigone Coates, Nicholas Constantinou, Nia Cotter, Gaia Cousin, Sophie Cox, Ioan Cox, Oliver Cropley, Meghana Dicana, Nadia Eweiss, Kimon Fryer-Petridis, Paris Fryer-Petridis, Zoe Galgavolgyi, Charlie Gaskin,Max Gowers, Hermione Guymer, Matthew Hannigan, Ellie Hannigan, Samuel Hoare, Olivia Hunt, Aaron Hurrell, Amin Mohmadyasin Jawrawala, Maddy Jones, Seerat Kaur, Chris Kershaw, Alicia Khuttan, Lucas Klimas-Benavidez, Satyam Kumar, Maita Kusotera, Christopher Lee, Niamh Lenihan, Sebastian Magnago, Jack Morley, Kirsty Laim Rowan Nash-Coquio, Chidimma Olivia Oguachuba, Devin Owen, Amy Patterson, Skye Phillips, Jos Porathoor, Sam Pyle, Oliver Rogers, Sapphire Roques, Hester Boorman Ross, Asumi Sawada, Hari Sharma, Matthew Shields, Bhaskar Bukkanahalli Shivanna, Bhaskar Bukkanahalli Shivanna, Emma Smith, Alasdair Smith, Sophie Snowball, Ben Stannard, Rebekah Temple-Fielder, Stacey Trutzenbach, Anisah Tufal, Thomas Waddington, Rory White, Dylan Williamson, Nathan Wyatt, Kyle Yeoh, Amelia Zabicka

### Section A - Housekeeping

Chair reorders agenda

UC002 Statements from the Chair

Ali Sabba, acting Chair, opened the meeting and conducted a quorum count.

Quoracy check: 72 voting members present

- **UC003 Approval of minutes of the previous meeting** There are no minutes of the previous meeting.
- UC004 Matters arising

There were no matters to be considered.

#### UC005 Approval of Societies and Peer Support Groups

All Student Groups were approved. <u>Voting stats</u>

#### UC006 Cycle of Business

In accordance with Bye-Law 2.34, Ali brought a cycle of business to be proposed as the first Union Council of the Year. Cycle of Business included standing items to be included in each Union Council, as well as a run down of what each meeting in each term should include, or key stakeholders to be invited.

No questions were received on this item. The Council approved the Cycle of Business. Voting stats

#### UC007 Appointment to UEASU Code of Conduct Panel

Ali invited councillors to volunteer their interest if they would be interested in joining a Code of Conduct Disciplinary Panel. No one came forward.

#### UC008 Election of Trustee Board sub-committee Members

Ali invited councillors to nominate themselves for the role as Union Council rep on the following Trustee Board Sub-Committees. The councillors elected are as follows:

#### Risk and Audit Committee

Ethan Peters was elected unopposed with one position still available. <u>Voting stats</u>

#### Finance Committee

Candidates were Sebastian Magnago, Dewin Owen, and Oliver Sebastian Magnago and Dewin Owen were elected. <u>Voting stats</u>

#### UC009 Election of Democratic Procedure Committee Members

Ali invited councillors to nominate themselves to sit on the Democratic Procedures Committee. Five candidates self-nominated and were elected due to more positions being available. The following councillors were elected:

- Cody Butler
- Thomas Waddington
- Skye Phillips
- Samuel Hoare
- Sam Calenti
- Alicia Khuttan

### **Section B - Reports**

- UC010 Student Officer Committee Report No Student Officer Committee has taken place yet this year, therefore no report was provided.
- UC011 Trustee Board Report No report received.
- UC012 Full-Time Officer Reports Activities and Opportunities Officer – Olivia Hunt Campaigns and Democracy Officer – Chris Kershaw Postgraduate Officer – Bhaskar Bukkanahalli Shivanna Undergraduate Education Officer – Rebekah Temple-Fielder Welfare, Community & Diversity Officer – Nathan Wyatt There were no questions asked.

### Section C – Open Discussion

No discussion topic suggested.

### Section D – Policy Making

There were no Motions submitted.

## Section E – Any Other Business

Chair reorders agenda

#### UC001 Election of Chair and Deputy Chair

Ali introduced the election of Chair to Union Council and asked for nominations from those in attendance. There were 3 candidates for the position of Deputy Chair. Each were invited to deliver a 2-minute speech to councillors.

The candidates were:

- Chanel Munroe
- Sapphire Roques
- Chidimma Olivia Oguachuba

Chanel Munroe was elected as Deputy Chait of Union Council. <u>Voting stats</u>

There were no candidates present for the position of Chair. Nominations are open until 4pm on the 7<sup>th</sup> of November 2024 and will be voted on in the next Union Council.

#### UC013 Any Other Business

No other items discussed.

#### UC014 Next Meeting

The next meeting is held on the 7<sup>th</sup> of November 2024.

The deadline for agenda items is the 25<sup>th</sup> of October 2024. Dates of Union Council 24-25